Saturday, August 13, 2011
Old school vs. New school. Boxing vs. MMA?
I wanna say first off that I love the sport of boxing & this is in no way meant to belittle the sport. But boxing is for all intents & purposes, dead. There are a few big main events here & there & there are still alot of talented guys, but MMA is taking over. The once proud heavyweight division of boxing is gone. And I hear alot of people, boxing enthusiasts mostly, criticize MMA. They say that its too brutal. Noone said anything about wrestling in the olympics as bad, or boxing, or competitive kickboxing, Jiu Jitsu, karate, etc. When these sports were separate they werent "brutal" so why are they when theyre combined? I also hear some say that an MMA fighter doesnt possess the same skill as a boxer. Maybe most MMA fighters couldnt box professionally, but they would at least be able to look competent & put up a fight in a boxing match. I doubt a boxer could look anything but foolish in an MMA match unless he knew another discipline. My point is that MMA is not getting the respect it deserves from the boxing purists. Open your eyes and accept things.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment